Mister Brainwash

Mr_Brainwash.jpg

Mr. Brainwash, whose real name is Thierry Guetta, was born near Paris, in Sarcelles, in 1966. At the age of 15 he moved to Los Angeles. It was in 1999 that he clicked into the world of street art, during a trip to France where he got closer to his cousin, who was none other than the Parisian street artist Space Invader. Passionate about video, Thierry Guetta then began to film all the graffiti escapades by his side, accompanied by other street artists, such as Shepard Fairey. At this time, the videos are not intended to be shown. He then began to practice graffiti in his turn and became Mr. Brainwash. His universe is composed of a mixture between the stencils of Banksy and the imagery of Andy Warhol.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In 2009, he met British artist Banksy and helped him launch his Barely Legal exhibition in Los Angeles, an event that sparked the interest of celebrities and art collectors. The two artists then decide to make a documentary on the world of street artists, until then surrounded by mystery. The images shot previously will then be edited and show Invader, Banksy and Mr. Brainwash himself at work. From this collaboration was born the docu-fiction Exit through the Gift Shop (or Faire le Mur!), Nominated for an Oscar. The film presents the meteoric rise of Mr. Brainwash on the street art scene, and his works sold for astronomical sums, such as his portrait of Jim Morrison, sold for $ 100,000, or that of Charlie Chaplin estimated at 50 $ 000. After the success of the film, Mr. Brainwash's works became more and more popular.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

But history can also be taken the other way around. If it has been shown that Mr. Brainwash is not a fictional character, he is well and truly put together by this film. Fiction has caught up with reality, making Mr. Brainwash a real player in the art market.

Mister Brainwash

Mr. Brainwash, de son vrai nom Thierry Guetta est né près de Paris, à Sarcelles, en 1966. A l'âge de 15 ans il s'installe à Los Angeles. C'est en 1999 qu'il a le déclic pour l'univers du street art, lors d'un voyage en France où il se rapproche de son cousin, qui n'est autre que l'artiste de rue parisien Space Invader. Passionné par la vidéo, Thierry Guetta se met alors à filmer toutes les escapades de graffeur à ses côtés, accompagnés d'autres artistes de rue, tels que Shepard Fairey. À ce moment-là, les vidéos n'ont pas pour vocation à être montrées. Il se met alors à pratiquer le graff à son tour et devient Mr.Brainwash. Son univers se compose d'un mélange entre les pochoirs de Banksy et les imageries de Andy Warhol.

En 2009, il rencontre l'artiste britannique Banksy et l'aide à lancer son exposition Barely Legal à Los Angeles, un événement qui a suscité l'intérêt des célébrités et des collectionneurs d'art. Les deux artistes décident ensuite de réaliser un documentaire sur l'univers des street artists, jusqu'à là entouré de mystère. Les images tournées auparavant vont alors être montées et montrer Invader, Banksy et Mr. Brainwash lui-même à l'œuvre. De cette collaboration est né le docu-fiction Exit through the Gift Shop (ou Faites le Mur !), nominalisé pour un Oscar. Le film présente l'ascension météorique de Mr. Brainwash sur la scène de l'art urbain, et ses œuvres vendues pour des sommes astronomiques, comme son portrait de Jim Morrison, vendu pour 100 000 $, ou celui de Charlie Chaplin estimé à 50 000 $. Après le succès du film, les œuvres de Mr. Brainwash deviennent de plus en plus prisées.

Mais l'Histoire peut être prise également à l'inverse. S'il a été démontré que Mr.Brainwash n'est pas un personnage fictionnel, il est bel et bien monté de toutes pièces par ce film. La fiction a rattrapé le réel, faisant de Mr.Brainwash un véritable acteur du marché de l'art.