Jef Aérosol

Jef Aerosol faster.jpg

Jef Aerosol, in one name, the universe is given to us. We can already hear the ball resonating against the walls of the spray paint and feel the solvent released in spray. Born in Nantes in 1957, Jean-François Perroy alias Jef Aérosol, is a French painter and graffiti artist. He belongs to the first wave of street artists who developed the art of stenciling in the 1980s, the pioneers of the genre at that time, carried by the emerging hip hop movement. Blek Le Rat, Miss Tic or Epsylon Point, so many names that are considered today as true icons and founding fathers of urban art. Throughout France, we see characters emerging on the facades, only the black silhouette of which allows them to come to life.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Jef Aérosol started out in Tour, Orléans or Lille before tackling London, Rome, Lisbon or Brussels… This taste for the street, Jef Aérosol owes it to the punk movement which then made noise in 1980, a cultural pogo which led to his career artists coming from different horizons. In the beginning, the subjects of his stencils are none other than the artist himself, selfies by Jef Aérosol. Subsequently he will re-use the personalities of the rock generation, Elvis Presley or Jimmy Hendrix, and freeze their portraits between two alleys, but stars or not, everyone becomes VIP (Very Important Pochoir) in his eyes. This is how he will take as models the musicians he meets in the streets, the passers-by and paint them.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

His work is very successful and is particularly recognizable by the red arrow that accompanies all his graffiti paintings, but which does not yet know a precise explanation. We will notably remember his “Sitting Kid” stencil, symbolizing a young child alone and withdrawn. A motif that has been around the world, now reaching the Great Wall of China.

Jef Aérosol

Jef Aérosol, en un seul nom, l'univers nous est donné. On peut déjà entendre la bille qui résonne contre les parois de la bombe de peinture et sentir le solvant libéré en spray. Né à Nantes en 1957, Jean-François Perroy alias Jef Aérosol, est un artiste peintre et graffeur français. Il appartient à la première vague des street artists qui ont développé l'art du pochoir dans les années 1980, les pionniers du genre à cette époque, portés par le mouvement hip hop qui émerge. Blek Le Rat, Miss Tic ou Epsylon Point, autant de noms qui sont aujourd'hui considérés comme de véritables icônes et pères fondateurs de l'art urbain. Dans toute la France, on voit émerger sur les façades des personnages dont seule la silhouette noire permet de leur donner vie.

Jef Aérosol débute à Tour, Orléans ou Lille avant de s'attaquer à Londres, Rome, Lisbonne ou Bruxelles… Ce goût de la rue, Jef Aérosol le doit au mouvement punk qui fait alors du bruit en 1980, un pogo culturel qui entraîne sur son parcours les artistes venant différents horizons. Au commencement, les sujets de ses pochoirs ne sont autres que l'artiste lui-même, des selfies de Jef Aérosol. Par la suite il va ré exploiter les personnalités de la rock génération, Elvis Presley ou Jimmy Hendrix, et figer leurs portraits entre deux ruelles, mais vedettes ou non vedettes, tout un chacun devient VIP (Very Important Pochoir) à ses yeux. C'est ainsi qu'il va prendre pour modèles les musiciens qu'il croise dans les rues, les passants et les peindre.

Son œuvre rencontre un franc succès et est particulièrement reconnaissable par la flèche rouge qui accompagne toutes ses peintures graffiti, mais qui ne connait pas encore d'explication précise. On retiendra notamment son pochoir « Sitting Kid », symbolisant un jeune enfant seul et replié sur lui-même. Un motif qui a fait le tour du monde, atteignant désormais la muraille de Chine.